Image for Symposium 2014:  'Varieties of Secularism, Religion, and the Law'
Image for <center><font size = 4>The International Center for Law and Religion Studies</center></font size>

The Mission and Purpose of the Center are 
to help secure the
blessings of freedom of religion and belief for all people by

  • expanding, deepening, and disseminating knowledge and expertise regarding the interrelationship of law and religion,
  • facilitating the growth of networks of scholars, experts, and policy makers involved in the field of religion and law, and 
  • contributing to law reform processes and broader implementation of principles of religious freedom worldwide.
Image for Symposium 2014: 'Varieties of Secularism, Religion, and the Law'

The 21st annual International Law and Religion Symposium will be held 5-7 October 2014 at Brigham Young University Law School in Provo, Utah. This year 80 invited delegates, from 40 countries, will address the theme "Varieties of Secularism, Religion, and the Law." The Symposium will open Sunday evening, 5 October 2014 at 7:00 pm MDT (GMT-7). The Keynote Speaker at the opening session will be United States Senator Orrin Hatch, who will also be presented with the Center's Distinguished Service Award. Symposium sessions are open to the public free of charge. The opening session on Sunday evening will be available worldwide via live webcast (click here to view).

This year's delegates include scholars, government officials, journalists, and religious and civic leaders from Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Croatia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Dominican Republic, France, Greece, Guatemala, Guyana, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico... more

Image for Symposium 2014: Keynote Speaker Orrin Hatch to Receive Distinguished Service Award

The International Center for Law and Religion Studies is pleased to announce that Senator Orrin Hatch, United States Senator for the State of Utah, will be the keynote speaker at the opening session of the 21st Annual International Law and Religion Symposium, to be held in the Moot Court Room of the J. Reuben Clark Law School on the campus of Brigham Young University at 7 pm MDT (GMT-7) Sunday evening, October 5, 2014. ICLRS Director Professor W. Cole Durham, Jr., will also present the Center's Distinguished Service Award to Senator Hatch at this session, which will be available via live webcast to listeners worldwide. 

Orrin Hatch assumed office in the United States Senate on January 3, 1977. Now in his seventh term, he is the most senior Republican in the Senate. His tenure has been marked by decades of influence over legislation in the United States. He was for twelve years chairman or ranking minority member of the powerful Senate Judiciary Committee, which helps shape the federal judiciary and... more

Image for Symposium 2014: The Student Executive Committee

The International Center for Law and Religion Studies is pleased to announce the members of the Student Executive Committee for the 21st Annual International Law and Religion Symposium. The success of the Symposium each year is due in large part to the planning and performance of these outstanding students from the J. Reuben Clark Law School, under the direction of Associate Director Elizabeth Clark and Center Coordinator Deborah Wright, with assistance from Senior Editor Donlu Thayer.

The committee members are divided into five teams: Chase Thomas and Aline Longstaff will coordinate and oversee the Master Schedule of all Symposium events, including delegate schedules. Co-chairs of the Recruitment Team, Monica GardnerRachel Bennion,and  Shantel Talbot, assisted by Eva Brady and Jedi Knight, will recruit, organize, and supervise dozens of student volunteers from the law school and across BYU campus, as well as coordinating... more

Image for ICLRS Student Management Board 2014-2015

The International Center for Law and Religion Studies of the J. Reuben Clark Law School at Brigham Young University  is pleased to announce the members of  the Center Student Management Board, for 2014-2015. The Board is composed of second- and third-year law students. Students are selected for their interest in the worldwide work of the Center and for expertise in such areas as research, writing, editing, languages, and website management. The group for this year includes third-year students Heather Binks, Christina ChampenoisJames HeilpernBryant HinckleyLynn Nouri, and Alex Storms, and second-year students Ryan Andersen, Eva Brady, Bennett Briggs, Tara Fitzgerald, Roman HarperTravis HyerJedi Knight, Aline Longstaff,  Annalee Moser, Lauren Robins, and Jarvis Yau.  Languages spoken by members of this group include Arabic, Chinese, Danish, French, German, Hindi, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, Urdu.... more