Academic Advisory Board

The Center is honored to have a distinguished group of globally recognized scholars serve as its Academic Advisory Board. The contributions of these outstanding individuals in illuminating the intricacies of religious freedom principles and promoting enlightened discussion of those principles are of tremendous value. These advisors significantly advance the Center’s mission and the cause of religious freedom throughout the world.



Professor Sophie van Bijsterveld
Universiteit Radboud, Netherlands
Member, Dutch Upper House of Parliament

Reverend Doctor Kim-Kwong Chan 
Executive Secretary, Hong Kong Christian Council 
Hong Kong, China

Professor Carolyn Evans 
Vice Chancellor and President, Griffith University
Queensland, Australia

Professor Silvio Ferrari 
Emeritus, Dipartimento di Scienze giuridiche ‘Cesare Beccaria’
Università degli Studi di Milano
Milan, Italy

Doctor Ján Figeľ
International Expert on Freedom of Religion or Belief
Bratislava, Slovakia 

Professor Mohammad Hashim Kamali 
International Institute of Advanced Islamic Studies 
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Professor Tore Lindholm 
Professor Emeritus (Philosophy) 
Norwegian Centre for Human Rights 
University of Oslo Faculty of Law
Oslo, Norway

Tahir Mahmood
Professor of Eminence in Law & Chairman, Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
Amity University, New Delhi, India
Founder-President, South Asia Consortium for Religion and Law Studies 

Doctor Liu Peng 
Pu Shi Institute for Social Science 
Beijing, China

Professor Juan G. Navarro Floria 
Pontificia Universidad Católica 
Buenos Aires, Argentina

Professor Javier Martínez-Torrón 
Universidad Complutense 
Madrid, Spain

Professor Gerhard Robbers 
Professor Emeritus, Unversität Trier
Trier, Germany

Professor Rik Torfs
Rector, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Leuven, Belgium

Professor Juan Carlos A. Valderrama 
Universidad Católica 
Lima, Peru