Religious Freedom Writing Contest for Student Members of the Clark Society

The Washington DC Chapter of the J. Reuben Clark Law Society, in association with the International Center for Law and Religion Studies at Brigham Young University (ICLRS) and in connection with the 17th Annual International Law and Religion Symposium, has announced the winning papers of the First Annual Religious Freedom Writing Contest. The contest, which was open to all student members of the Clark Society, was designed to promote quality research and writing on the important topic of religious freedom. Winners were recognized at an Award Dinner in Washington, D.C. on 7 October 2010. They received cash awards, and several of their papers will be published, online and in the BYU Law Review. 

Winners, 2010 Religious Freedom Writing Contest

1st Place: Tim Taylor – J.D. candidate Harvard University

2nd Place: Matt Chandler – J.D. candidate Brigham Young University

3rd Place: Robert Snyder – LL.M. Pantheon-Assas (University of Paris II), J.D. Boston University

Honorable Mention: James Phillips – J.D. candidate University of California, Berkeley

Honorable Mention: Joseph Andelin – J.D. Indiana University