Gary Doxey Named ICLRS Development Committee Chair

Effective January 2011, Professor Gary B. Doxey, an Associate Director of the International Center for Law and Religion Studies at Brigham Young University, has been named chair of the Center’s Development Committee. Professor Doxey replaces Dean Scott Cameron, BYU Law School Associate Dean of External Relations, who had served as Development Committee Chair since summer 2008. The Center expresses its profound thanks for the invaluable service of Dean Cameron, who has served as a member of the Development Committee since its inception in 2006.

Professor Doxey, formerly the Center’s Managing Director, rejoined the Center in 2009 after three years during which he served as president of the Mexico City South Mission of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Before joining the law school, Professor Doxey served under Governor Olene S. Walker of Utah as chief of staff – the state’s top appointed official, head of the cabinet, and chief operating officer of the executive branch. Prior to that, he served six years as general counsel to Utah Governor Michael O. Leavitt. Professor Doxey has spent much of his career in Utah state government, serving as deputy commissioner of financial institutions and as associate general counsel to the Utah Legislature. He has also been a professor of history at Brigham Young University and has taught at the University of Utah. He spent his early legal career as a commercial law practitioner and was a judicial clerk for the United States Bankruptcy Court for the District of Utah. He has a Ph.D. from Cambridge University and a J.D. from BYU. He speaks or reads several languages and is the author of many scholarly publications.

The Committee’s current members include, in addition to Professor Doxey and Dean Cameron, BYU Law School Dean James R. Rasband, the Center’s Director Professor Cole W. Durham, Jr., and some members of the Center’s International Advisory Council, including Lynn Anderson, William F. Atkin, Doug Bush, David Christensen, Mark Cressler, Ralph W. Hardy, Jr., Duane Madsen, John Nichols, and James E. Pollock, as well as Law School personnel Kelly Reeves, Bryce Wade, and Deborah Wright.