Court Elects Vice-President Casadevall and Section President Garlicki

The European Court of Human Rights has elected a new Vice-President – Josep Casadevall (Andorra) – and elected a new Section President – Lech Garlicki (Poland). Both will assume their three-year terms on November 4, 2011. Judge Casadevall, who has served as President of Section since February 2008, has been a Judge of the Court since November 1998. Judge Garlicki has served on the Court since June 2002. The Court is composed of one judge in respect of each of the 47 States to have ratified the European Convention on Human Rights. Judges work in five Sections from which Chambers of seven judges are constituted. The Court also sits as a Grand Chamber of seventeen judges. The Court has two Vice-Presidents both of whom also preside over Sections, the other three Sections each having a Section President.