2017 Founding Fathers Religious Liberty Student Writing Competition Award Winners

The Mid-Atlantic Chapter of the J. Reuben Law Society and the International Center for Law and Religion Studies are pleased to announce the winners of the 8th Annual Religious Liberty Student Writing Competition. The winners were announced at the International Religious Liberty Awards Dinner held on Thursday, October 5, 2017 in Washington, D.C.

First Place ($4000): Michael West (University of Virginia School of Law)
Paper Title: Waiving the Ministerial Exception

Second Place ($3000): Daniel Boger (University of Virginia School of Law)
Paper title: The Executive Branch as a Promoter of Religious Liberty

Third Place ($2000): James Phillips (UC-Berkeley School of Law)
Paper title: Learning to Think Like a (Secular) Lawyer? Investigating Whether the First Year of Law School Influences Views on Religious Liberty

Honorable Mention ($1000): Rodney “Rod” Harrell (George Mason School of Law)
Paper title: State Free Exercise Defenses to Civil and Criminal Nondiscrimination Laws? Strict Scrutiny and the Public Accommodation of Sexual Orientation.

Honorable Mention ($1000): Jared Magnuson (University of Georgia School of Law)
Paper title: Let Your Conscience Be Your Guide: Comparing and Contrasting Washington’s Death with Dignity Act and Pharmacy Regulations After the Ninth Circuit’s Decision in Stormans, Inc. v. Wiesman

Honorable Mention ($1000): Peter Houser (Notre Dame School of Law)
Paper Title: Compelling Interest Versus Compelling Belief: RFRA and Nondiscrimination

Honorable Mention ($1000): Paul Schmitt (University of Illinois College of Law)
Paper Title: Snuffing Out A Thousand Points of Light: Government Marginalization of Religious Intermediate Institutions